Not Quite 24 (Conscious) Hours

Koenji, 15:19:17 26/01/14

My sense of time is still pretty terrible at the moment, perhaps as evidenced by my absolute conviction that I had slept all through Sunday, only to check and find, to my great dismay, that it was still resolutely Saturday. What an embarrassing climb-down. Thankfully I have achieved some scattered sleep, and will hopefully be totally de-zombified tomorrow.

Consciousness and some semblance or orientation achieved, I managed to leave the house for the first time and get some bread and butter from the cheerfully-named Family Mart around the corner.

Finally, some real food!

Finally, some real food!

After this rather modest, but no less enjoyable breakfast, I had a bit of an explore of the city. Even Koenji alone is rather large, and I’ve learnt that it helps to check the kanji for the stop at which one wants to get off BEFORE walking all the way to the station. A milestone for my Japanese came when I managed to pluck up the courage to ask a bookshop owner if they had a copy of Oku no Hosomichi, which took a good half an hour of wandering around trying to find it by myself within the crowded shelves. Baby steps.

During my wanderings back and forth from the house, I met my other housemates. One is from Shanghai and speaks vastly better Japanese than I do, while the other is actually Japanese and speaks English slightly better than my own second language. Looks like I have a lot of catching up to do.

After my high-brow jaunt to a proper bookshop, I thought I should probably buy something I can actually read. Hurrah for furigana-ed manga!

They even wrap it in paper, so you can read of Rock Lee's adventures while the other commuters are none the wiser

They even wrap it in paper, so you can read of Rock Lee’s adventures while the other commuters are none the wiser

Have a look below for a few more photographic observations. All I need to do now is survive the dreaded Dinner-Time-with-Quiet-Japanese-Light-Entertainment-TV-in-the-Background-to-mask-my-distinctly-lacking-language-skills and make it through the night, preferably without waking up every two hours.

A darts bar. Why not?

A darts bar. Why not?

Yet another clue for the Death Note aficionados out there

Yet another clue for the Death Note aficionados out there

One thought on “Not Quite 24 (Conscious) Hours

  1. Little steps indeed. Many little steps make big steps.
    Well done, you are very brave and I am very proud. X

Leave a Reply

