A Samuicious Update

JKR_8193

You ask me to explain why I am afraid of a draught of cool air; why I shiver more than others upon entering a cold room, and seem nauseated and repelled when the chill of evening creeps through the heat of a mild autumn day. There are those who say I respond to cold as others do to a bad odour, and I am the last to deny the impression. What I will do is to relate the most horrible circumstance I ever encountered, and leave it to you to judge whether or not this forms a suitable explanation of my peculiarity.

…or so I might say, if my experience had been so horrible. Alas, the explanation of my peculiarity lies neither in Tokyo Snowstorm Parts I & II nor the crazed experiments of a Lovecraftian practitioner. If I may issue a caveat, my experience has been mostly of the suburbs, my time being as it is spent safely inside and working. Indeed, I read my first article on the subject not two minutes ago and was, even now, somewhat incredulous.

Thus I ask you to stem your tears of worry and woe at the news that I am living and well, and only slightly troubled by the snow. I had intended to wait until it had fully dissipated (currently the view is one of early Alpine spring), but with the news that Friday and Saturday may bring the dreaded Snowstorm III, I feel it would be best to throw caution to the (light) winds and assume that nothing too snow-related will occur from this point on.

In writing this I have possibly stumbled upon the single greatest disadvantage of being only slightly inconvenienced, namely that I have little to write beyond what I’ve told my well-wishers personally — from what I’ve experienced, the snow situation seemed a little overblown. Not one to doubt the journalistic merit of the BBC et al, I will concede that this does seem to have been the biggest snowstorm in decades. Perhaps my experience of an entire country grinding to a halt when threatened with little more than icing sugar has caused me to shrug off such unthinkabilities as train delays and road closures. No ganbattling against the wrath of Mother Nature for me, but rather quiet wonder, photography and much shivering.

In Other News

20140220-102501-pm.jpg

Made with (extreme) care

I went to an utterly minuscule coffee shop and ordered the slowest mocha ever made. 20140220-102515-pm.jpg

Perhaps the presence of a single staff member and slow deliberation with which he performed his duties was a deliberate move to maintain some semblance of a queue of outrageously edgy patrons so far away from the high street.

20140220-102806-pm.jpg

What animal do YOU use to express YOUR kawaii?

Glossary of (coined) terms

Sa•mu•i•cious |sæ’mu:i:ʃʊs| adj. pertaining to cold, the gravity of which demands endurance. ORIGIN From Japanese samui, ‘cold’
Gan•bat•tle |gæn’bæt(ə)l| verb to participate in a fight or struggle that necessitates one’s full strength and resolve. ORIGIN From Japanese ganbaru, ‘to try one’s best’ via ganbatte, ‘try your best’

One thought on “A Samuicious Update

Leave a Reply

